Thursday, January 31, 2013

New Song: Iron & Wine "Lovers' Revolution"

from Pitchfork:

Iron & Wine Return With New Album Ghost on Ghost, Share New Track "Lovers' Revolution"

Evan Minsker
 on January 31, 2013 at 09:00 a.m.

Iron & Wine Return With New Album Ghost on Ghost, Share New Track
Sam Beam's Iron & Wine are back with their follow-up LP to 2011's Kiss Each Other CleanGhost on Ghost is out April 16 in the U.S. via their new label home, Nonesuch. (It's out on April 15 via 4AD in Europe, Japan, Australia, and New Zealand.) Below, check out the band's first offering from the album, "Lovers' Revolution". 
The album was produced by Brian Deck, who has worked extensively with Iron & Wine in the past. The album cover, pictured above, is by photographer Barbara Crane, from her series "Private Lives". Musicians on the album include Rob Burger of Tin Hat Trio, Steve Bernstein, Tony Scherr, Kenny Wollesen, and Briggan Krauss of Sex Mob, jazz drummer Brian Blade, trombonist Curtis Fowlkes of the Jazz Passengers, bassist Tony Garnier (Bob Dylan's band), cellist Marika Hughes, Maxim Moston and Doug Wieselman of Antony and the Johnsons, and Anja Wood.
In a press release, Beam said that his previous two albums contained an "anxious tension" that he wanted to move away from. "This record felt like a reward to myself after the way I went about making the last few."
Iron & Wine are planning to tour throughout the year-- dates will be announced soon.
Ghost on Ghost:
01 Caught in the Briars
02 The Desert Babbler
03 Joy
04 Low Light Buddy of Mine
05 Graces for Saints and Ramblers
06 Grass Windows
07 Singers and the Endless Song
08 Sundown (Back in the Briars)
09 Winter Prayers
10 New Mexico's No Breeze
11 Lovers' Revolution
12 Baby Center Stage
Watch Iron & Wine cover Johnny Cash's "Long Black Veil":

No comments:

Post a Comment