Friday, August 12, 2016

Relix: Jack White Announces Career-Spanning Acoustic Compilation

Jack White has announced a new album of acoustic recordings collected from his almost two decades in the music business, Jack White Acoustic Recordings 1998-2016, set for release on September 9 via his own Third Man Records. The 26-track compilation brings together recordings from White's days in The White Stripes and The Raconteurs, along with some of his solo work, all reworked and remastered for the release.

One track from the record, the previously unreleased "City Lights," was premiered today. The song was originally written for The White Stripes' 2005 album Get Behind Me Satan and marks the now-split duo's first official new release since 2008. Listen to that song here:

The rest of the compilation brings together both popular White-penned tunes and deeper cuts, ranging from hit singles to B-sides. The first half focuses on White's stint with the Stripes, taking cuts from all six of their studio albums, from their 1999 self-titled debut, which supplies opening track "Sugar Never Tasted So Good," to 2007's Icky Thump, which bookends the Stripes portion of the collection with "Effect & Cause." Part two of the release dips into The Raconteurs' catalog, including an acoustic mix of "Carolina Drama," along with White's more recent solo efforts.

Consult the full tracklist below, along with an announcement video and the front- and back-cover album art. Pre-order Jack White Acoustic Recordings 1998-2016 here.

Album Art + Tracklist:

1 Sugar Never Tasted So Good
2 Apple Blossom (Remixed)
3 I'm Bound To Pack It Up (Remixed)
4 Hotel Yorba
5 We're Going To Be Friends
6 You've Got Her In Your Pocket
7 Well It's True That We Love One Another
8 Never Far Away

9 Forever For Her (Is Over For Me)
10 White Moon
11 As Ugly As I Seem
12 City Lights (Previously Unreleased White Stripes Track)
13 Honey, We Can't Afford To Look This Cheap
14 Effect & Cause

15 Love Is The Truth (Acoustic Mix)
16 Top Yourself (Bluegrass Version)
17 Carolina Drama (Acoustic Mix)
18 Love Interruption
19 On And On And On
20 Machine Gun Silhouette (Acoustic Mix)

21 Blunderbuss
22 Hip (Eponymous) Poor Boy (Alternate Mix)
23 I Guess I Should Go To Sleep (Alternate Mix)
24 Just One Drink (Acoustic Mix)
25 Entitlement
26 Want And Able

No comments:

Post a Comment